Top: Jenny Gallagher, Malvern Ward. Bob Mugford, Malvern Ward. Murray Lemon, Ellesmere Ward. Shane Epiha, Ellesmere Ward. Middle: Mark Alexander, Selwyn Central Ward. Jeff Bland, Selwyn Central Ward. Sophie McInnes, Selwyn Central Ward. Nicole Reid, Selwyn Central Ward. Bottom: Debra Hasson, Springs Ward. Grant Miller, Springs Ward. Malcolm Lyall, Deputy Mayor, Springs Ward. Sam Broughton, Mayor

Mayor returned for second term

by Mike Isle

Sam Broughton has been returned for a second term as Selwyn’s mayor.

Final results of the 2019 local body elections, released on Thursday, show Broughton received 12,041 votes.

His only rival for the mayoralty, Bill Woods, received 4,485 votes.

Broughton told The Record that his second-term focus would be on delivering the specific projects already begun and budgeted for.

“There will be some new stuff coming up too, centred around tourism and the growth of Selwyn,” he said.

Three new councillors have also been confirmed as elected, replacing the three councillors who stood down at the end of the last term.

The new councillors are Shane Epiha for Ellesmere Ward, Jenny Gallagher for the Malvern Ward and Sophie McInnes for Selwyn Central Ward.

For McInnes, it was an anxious wait for election-day margin to be confirmed. Preliminary results gave her a margin of just seven votes over Michelle Jones. The final vote increased her margin to 13.

McInnes said she had contacted Jones on Thursday after the final count and passed on her commiserations.

For Jones, it was a case of gracious acceptance.

“At the end of the day, the people have voted how they wanted. I know Sophie will do a fantastic job.”

In addition to Ms McInnes, current councillors Nicole Reid, Mark Alexander and Jeff Bland were all returned in the Selwyn Central Ward.

In Malvern, current councillor Bob Mugford was returned alongside Mrs Gallagher, while in Ellesmere incumbent councillor Murray Lemon was returned.

The three vacancies in Springs Ward saw existing councillors Grant Miller, Malcolm Lyall and Debra Hasson returned. The new council will be sworn in on October 30, with a deputy mayor appointed at the ceremony. The final voter return was 41.88% or 16,880 votes excluding special votes. It is well below the national turnout of 48.3% and Selwyn’s 2016 turnout of 44.6%