Quarry commissioners appointed

by Mike Isle

The Selwyn District Council has named the commissioners it has appointed to consider the application by Fulton Hogan for a quarry on Dawson’s Road in Templeton.

They are Rob van Voorthuysen, Sharon McGarry and Paul Thomas.

The council says they are all experienced commissioners with the skills necessary to oversee the contentious and controversial resource consent applications by Fulton Hogan to both Selwyn District Council and Environment Canterbury.

Environment Canterbury had earlier voted to approve the commissioners, and the applications will be heard at a joint hearing.

If the consent is granted, Fulton Hogan wants the quarry running 24 hours a day for almost half the year — with up to 750 trucks entering or leaving the site every day.

That is something opposed by many in the Templeton and nearby Weedons communities. The council has received 430 submissions, 329 of which oppose Fulton Hogan’s application for resource consent.