Chair for Ngai Tahu

by Anonymous Author

Lisa Tumahai has been reappointed as kaiwhakahaere (chair) of Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu, which is responsible for the governance of more than $1.3B of the South Island tribe’s assets.

Her appointment to the position was made at an Ngai Tahu board meeting held at the Tuahiwi Marae recently. 

She was the deputy kaiwhakahaere, the first wahine to hold the position, from 2011 until November 2016 when she was appointed as chair following the resignation of Sir Mark Solomon.

Ms Tumahai, who represents Te Runanga o Ngati Waewae (Hokitika), said it was a real honour to be elected as the kaiwhakahaere and looks forward to building on the work she has already undertaken in the role since April 2016.

“I am humbled to have received such a strong mandate to carry on my role as the kaiwhakahaere,” she said.

“The strong mandate means we can move forward for the betterment of Ngai Tahu whanui.

“My vision going forward is to ensure, as a Board, we create an evolutionary shift to better support the needs and wellbeing of Ngai Tahu whanui,” says Lisa.

Matapura Ellison, the representative for Kati Huirapa Runaka ki Puketeraki, was appointed as the deputy chair (Kaiwhakahaere Tuarua) at the meeting.