Top season for Murgatroyd

by Anonymous Author

Prebbleton’s Tim Murgatroyd was named senior player of the year at the recent Ellesmere Rugby Sub Union’s annual awards.

In his first season with the club, the 25-year-old second-five helped Prebbleton to a top four finish in the Ellesmere competition.

Murgatroyd was also selected for the Ellesmere rep side and was named MVP in the sides 35-20 win over North Canterbury in the Southbridge Shield match 25.

He was also named as vice-captain of this year’s Canterbury Country team and was selected for the Canterbury development team.

Showing there is growing depth in the Prebbleton club, Corey McKay was named as Ellesmere’s U18 player of the year.

Waihora’s Mark Maitland received the BNZ Trophy after being named Ellesmere rugby’s personality of the year.
While, Maitland’s club side didn’t have the best of seasons his representative season was stellar, earning a call up to the full Canterbury side which included playing in a successful Ranfurly Shield defence. He also played his blazer game for Canterbury Country this season and was an important factor in Ellesmere’s Southbridge Shield win.

The 2017 Ellesmere Rugby Sub Union Award winners: McLelland Memorial Cup (good conduct): Lincoln-Springston U13; M. K. Rathgen Trophy (U18 player of the year): Corey McKay (Prebbleton); Gavin Eastwick Trophy (U19): Joe Robbins (Waihora); D and A Harkess Trophy (Colts): Sam Cottam (Lincoln): Westpac Cup (Senior): Tim Murgatroyd (Prebbleton); Earl Browning Memorial Trophy (Volunteer of the year): Phil Thomas; BNZ Trophy (Personality): Mark Maitland (Waihora).