Selwyn tertiary scholarships open

by Anonymous Author

Applications are now open for pupils from local secondary schools to apply for a Selwyn District Council tertiary scholarship.

Council awards a total of six scholarships each year to two pupils in year 12 or 13 at Darfield High School, Ellesmere College and Lincoln High School.

The scholarship offers $3,000 to each student, assisting them to take up further education at a university, polytechnic or accredited state or private institution, on a full-time course of study which benefits the wider community.

Selwyn mayor Sam Broughton said council is pleased to be able to support young leaders in Selwyn.

“The scholarship programme is a really practical way council can encourage students to pursue their education opportunities,” he said.

“It’s exciting to be able to help them along their learning journey, knowing their families and community will also benefit in the long term.”

Applicants are judged on their contribution to the school and community, their attitude and academic ability. Decisions on applications are made by a panel including the relevant school principal (or their representative) and two council representatives, either local ward councillors or a ward councillor and the chair of the local community board.

Applicants must be New Zealand citizens or permanent residents who live in Selwyn. The applications are announced and awarded at end of year school prizegiving awards.

Last year’s scholarship recipients were Hannah Long and Duncan Finlayson from Lincoln High School, Cassian Duthie and Brionne Fleming from Ellesmere College and Emily De Rooy and Kathryn Barnhill from Darfield High School.

To find out more about the scholarships, including application forms and scholarship closing dates, students should contact their school.