Lincoln undefeated in 2017

by Kent Caddick

Lincoln has recorded back-to-back seasons without a loss when it secured the Selwyn premier netball title for the fifth year in a row on the weekend.

The defending champions were confronted by a fired up Broadfield side in the final at the Lincoln Event Centre.

Led up by the unflappable Laura Lowe and feisty defender Georgie Bolton, Broadfield put down the challenge early in the match, handing Lincoln one of its few quarter losses this season when it finished the first stanza ahead by 13-10.

Broadfield wing attack Sarah Eaton, left, was supported by her fan club.

The lead could have been more but some wayward shooting by Broadfield restricted its lead, a facet of the game which was to cost it dearly as the game progressed.

Lincoln tweaked its line up in the second quarter with Tyler Rollo moving to wing attack and young gun Missy Banks coming on at wing defence.

Which was part of a huge crowd watching the final at the Lincoln Event Centre

The changes seemed to make the difference and the Lincoln juggernaut started to roll with shooter Hannah Wilson finding her range despite the intense pressure of the Broadfield defence. Lincoln’s defensive effort also picked up pace forcing turnovers and held ball allowing Wilson and fellow shooter Courtney Cramond to put Lincoln back in front by halftime, 28-24.

Broadfield’s shooting woes continued in the third quarter and with Char Porima controlling the centre court for Lincoln, the defending champions extended their lead to 42-30.

Courtney Cramond lines up a shot at goal for while fellow 
shooter Hannah Wilson becomes the filling for a 
Broadfield defensive sandwich

While Broadfield made changes to its shooting line up in the final quarter it was too little too late, and while it won the quarter Lincoln held on to wrap up its ‘five-peat’ with a 57-47 victory.

Lincoln, however, couldn’t complete the premier double with its B team going down to Burnham in the Premier 2 grade final. Burnham was far too strong for Lincoln B taking out the title 53-37.

In other finals day results Templeton took out the Premier 3 title with a 61-45 win over Lincoln C while Rolleston B overcame Southbridge B 41-36 in the Premier 4 final.