Young Farmers’ chair awarded top scholarship

by Anonymous Author

New Zealand Young Farmers’ chairperson Jason Te Brake has become the youngest recipient ever to receive a prestigious Emerging Primary Industries Scholarship.

The scholarship is a partnership between the Ministry for Primary Industries in conjunction with AGMARDT and the Te Hono Movement, and is a prestigious accolade for young leaders.

He will now attend the 2017 Te Hono Movement Stanford Bootcamp and said he was honoured to be one of the youngest to receive the scholarship.

“It is a fantastic opportunity to spend time at a world-renowned university,” Jason said.

“It’s a huge privilege and the collaboration across the food industry at senior levels that it offers is important in terms of adding value and prosperity to the industry.”

Jason, who has a chartered accounting and finance background has been a board member of NZ Young Farmers for four years and has graduated from the Kellogg Rural Leadership Programme.

NZ Young Farmers CEO Terry Copeland said the scholarship reinforced the significant role the organisation plays in providing tomorrow’s leaders in the Primary Industry.

“We continue to strive to develop leaders who will make a vital impact and we are immensely proud of Jason’s achievements to date.

“He has shown outstanding leadership within our organisation and we are delighted to see him expand that capability further.

“To be the youngest recipient of the scholarship shows the depth of maturity and professionalism he and many of our members display on an ongoing basis and we believe our organisation is key to developing future leaders that will add value to the primary sector.”

Mr Copeland said the purpose of the scholarship was to recognise those leaders who demonstrate the best potential to make a difference as a senior leader in the primary industries, and to support their continuing professional development.