New chair for community arts council

by Kent Caddick

Darfield’s Philip Baldwin is looking forward to the challenge after taking over the chair of the Malvern Community Arts Council.

Mr Baldwin was installed as the new Malvern Community Arts Council (MCAC) chair at its recent annual general meeting, taking over the role from Terri Elder.

He is no stranger to the council having been a member of the MCAC’s Performing Arts Committee for seven years. ”We shifted to Darfield in 2009, and partly because I was a musician, I joined the performing arts committee of the arts council in 2010.

“So I had a good idea of how the council operates through this as well as attending a few AGMs and Darfield Art Week, which is spectacular.”

Mr Baldwin said the council had been looking for someone who could fill the role of chair and devote a good amount of volunteer time to the organisation.

“I had been approached by a couple of friends who are long time members of the MCAC and they encouraged me to consider working as chair.

“Because of some administrative experience I had from working with the Anglican church in Christchurch I felt I had some of those skills that would be needed for the role.”

He said his goal as chair of the organisation is to strengthen its community support and to continue to provide high quality art exhibits for the art gallery and art week.

“We have a fabulous Gallery committee and Artweek committee, and those volunteers are really passionate about their work and I want to ensure that work is continued.”

Mr Baldwin holds a Bachelor of Music (Hons) and Master of Arts degrees from Western University, as well as a Master of Theological Studies from Huron University College, in London, Canada.

Also at the AGM where Mr Baldwin was confirmed as chair, Alastair Nicol and Lana Coles were reappointed as treasurer and secretary respectively, while Carol Van Leeuwen is a new appointment to the executive committee, joining Terri Elder, Meg Morten, Judith Pascoe, Kirsty Peel and Paul Rosanowski. 

Also elected were the various sub-committees for MCAC, which include the Gallery Committee, which is responsible for developing the exhibition programme and overseeing Selwyn Gallery operations, the Performing Arts committee and the Artweek committee.

The elected chairs of these committees are: Meg Morten (Gallery), Melissa Jebson (Performing Arts) and Terri Elder (Artweek).