Ellesmere rugby squad

by Anonymous Author

The initial training squad for the 2017 Ellesmere representative rugby side has been named.

Coaches Alex Robertson and Terry Dalton have recently announced their initial training group for the 2017 Ellesmere Seniors.

However, they said there are players not selected in the initial group who are still being considered for the final squad, which will be announced on Saturday, June 24. 

The 34-man squad is dominated by players from the Southbridge and Waihora clubs, which are the current Ellesmere and Combined Country champions respectively. 

Darfield, which has been in good form this season, has five players in the squad, while the combined Burnham Dunsandel Irwell club has four.

The other players selected come from the Prebbleton, Lincoln, Rolleston, Banks Peninsula and West Melton clubs.